Treble Group and DHL – Rugby World Cup Trophy Tour 2015

DHL, the world’s leading express and logistics provider, and the International Rugby Board (IRB) announced that DHL will be Official Logistics Partner of Rugby World Cup 2015. The partnership will see DHL assume responsibility for the logistics of one of the biggest international sporting events, which will take place in host country England over six weeks in September and October 2015.

As Official Logistics Partner, DHL will be responsible for the transportation of Tournament and team equipment from around the world to the 13 match venues in England. The equipment to be transported will include, for example, an estimated 1,400 rugby balls, 200 kicking tees and 200 tackle bags. From October 26 to October 30, 2013, DHL carried the 4.5kg Webb Ellis Cup on its global network between the four former holders of the Trophy: New Zealand (the current holder), Australia, South Africa and England. The journey will see the Trophy handed over by DHL and Cup Chaperone – legendary former New Zealand player Grant Fox – to former Rugby World Cup winning players from each country for a brief local celebration with fans, before it is then delivered to Dublin, Ireland for the inaugural IRB World Rugby Conference.

DHL and Treble Group activated the Rugby World Cup Trophy tour to Johannesburg and Cape Town as well as the following activations;

• The staff functions at both OR Tambo and Cape Town International Gateways.
• The press conference in both Johannesburg and Cape Town.
• School visits to Helpmekaar Kollege and Park Town Boys High (Johannesburg) and Alexander Sinton High School and Rondebosch Boys High (Cape Town).
• Coaching clinics and lunch for 150 underprivileged children in Johannesburg and 60 underprivileged children in Cape Town.
• Client functions in both Johannesburg and Cape Town. In Cape Town, members from the public were also invited to view the trophy and meet the SA Rugby Legends.
• The SA Rugby Legends who were arranged to attend by Treble Group, were: Joel Stransky, Chester Williams, James Small, James Dalton, Hennie Le Roux, Japie Mulder, Hannes Strydom, Joost van der Westhuizen, Gary Botha, Adriaan Richter, Wikus van Heerden, Stefan Terblanche and John Smit.